Welcome!

Hello there, world!  Welcome to my little corner of the internet.

For background, I’m Becca, a newly minted M.D. with a passion for things outside the confines of my hospital-heavy world–chief among them:  spending time with my wonderful husband and dog, friends and family, reading/tv/video gaming/all things geeky, and of course, keeping myself sane through a combination of fitness and a love for cooking!

I started this blog because I have recently become a more involved runner, and, in my search for tips and hints about training and fueling for runs, discovered the wonderful world of fitness blogging.  So here we are!  Hopefully this will be a fun exercise into keeping track of workouts, food, and jotting down ideas for maintaining something of a healthy lifestyle while traversing the crazy world of medical residency.

To get us started…

Today’s workout:

30 minute treadmill interval run (stolen from Julie at PBfingers)

Weightlifting circuit (stolen from Pinterest)

On the menu:

Breakfast: 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt with 1 tsp chia seeds, 1 tbsp chopped walnuts, and a handful of blueberries

Lunch: PBJ quesadilla (tortilla w/ peanut butter, Trader Joe’s reduced sugar raspberry preserves, half a banana, and some sliced strawberries), Salad (spinach leaves, zucchini, squash, carrot, and fat free zesty Italian dressing), and about a quarter of a Honey Crisp apple w/ a wedge of Laughing Cow lite swiss cheese.

Dinner: Pulled pork barbecue sandwich on a pretzel bun with a handful of sweet potato, grippo’s, and garlic herb french fries from a local sandwich place (yum!)

After dinner: My friend Ashley and I hit up Menchie’s for some delicious fro-yo.  I had a mix of cake batter, dulce de leche, angel food cake, blackberry, and original tart with all kinds of toppings–strawberries, cookie dough, a brownie bite, and sprinkles.

Not exactly the healthiest day of all time, but man, I am addicted to fro-yo!  We just got a few new shops here in my hometown and I love the concept of mixing all the flavors and mix-ins.  Every time I go, I tell myself I’m going to get just 1 or 2 flavors, but I always end up with at least 3 or 4!  Too yummy!

Leave a Reply

