Out of your comfort zone

This morning, the husband and I slept wonderfully late (one of the–albeit few–advantages to him being between jobs at the moment) and had a generally relaxing day. We’re gearing up for a big graduation trip to England with my parents, so the most exciting thing we did all day was make lists of things to do in preparation and to see while we’re there.  Even my morning workout was a bit more relaxed than usual. 

Workout: 25 minutes of grouped tabatas (courtesy pinterest).  This basically consists of 5 rounds of 4 exercises each, where you do each exercise for 20 seconds followed by a 10 second rest. Each circuit/group is repeated once so it takes 4 minutes for each group. 

I also completed the Outside your comfort zone 50’s weight workout.  While not as challenging as I had initially expected, this was definitely a great workout (especially the more cardio-based aspects…50 burpees kicked my butt!).  Plus it was a nice way to mix things up from my typical routine. I am a big fan of the Nike Training Club app and a lot of my weightlifting and strength workouts come from there, but it can get a little repetitive after a while. 

As far as food goes, today was particularly delicious (and nutritious)! Hooray for being doctor appoved!

Breakfast: Since I slept in so late, I didn’t end up finishing my workout until after 11, so breakfast was quick and light knowing that lunch would be coming shortly after. I went with a couple of spoonfuls of vanilla nonfat Greek yogurt (Kroger brand–we’re still on a student budget here!), a handful of walnuts, and about 1/4 a banana (I had used the rest in oatmeal earlier in the week).

Lunch: I made up some pasta and filled up a bowl full of veggies (spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, corn, zucchini, squash, onion, and chickpeas) and topped the whole thing with a Laughing Cow garlic and herb cheese wedge and some tomato sauce. Let me tell you, the veggies probably made up 2/3 of this dish and it was spectacular!! The cheese definitely added the extra kick. 

Snack: It may not count, but as I made dinner I happened to grab a finger full of peanut butter and a couple of reduced fat wheat thins. I am awful about throwing food randomly into my mouth while cooking. Luckily the husband distracted me from doing more damage with a discussion of Londonian pubs. 🙂

Dinner: We made up one of our new favorites tonight–lentils with kale and turkey sausage. This was a random Internet find when searching for something to make with a giant bag of lentils we had sitting around, and it has made its welcome way into our monthly recipes. See below for the full scoop. Dinner was accompanied by a crescent roll topped with smart balance light.  For dessert I had half of one of the remaining red velvet cupcakes from my graduation party last weekend. Red velvet, you speak directly to my soul. Plus the little fondant stethoscope on top is just so cute!

Lentils with sausage and kale

Ingredients:

1 c. lentils (dry)

1 (12oz) package chicken or turkey sausage (I used Johnsonville regular turkey sausage)

1 medium onion, thinly sliced

About 6-8 cups (1 bunch, or a little less) chopped kale

2.5 c water

1.5 c red cooking wine

2-3tbsp minced garlic

Crushed red pepper to taste

1 tsp sage

1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

Heat some olive oil in a skillet and add sausage, cooking and turning until brown. Remove from pan and set aside. 

Add a tad more olive oil to pan and add onion, cooking 4-5 minutes until tender. Stir in garlic and crushed red pepper. 

Add water and cooking wine. Raise heat to high and bring to a boil. Add lentils. Reduce heat to a slow simmer and cook, partially covered, for 40 minutes. 

Add kale, sage, and saltCooker and cook, stirring occasionally, until kale and lentils are tender (about 10 minutes more). 

Slice sausage and stir in to pan. Cover and cook until heated through. 

Leave a Reply

