Major Motivation

Whoa!  Missed a couple of days there…I started this blog because I typically keep a food journal and/or calorie count with MyFitnessPal, and I thought this might be an easier way to keep track of my workouts and eating without necessarily having to keep track of every. single. calorie.  The downside, of course, is that when I get busy like I did the past few days, it’s a lot harder to keep up with!  Things have been a lot of fun around here though.

Tuesday night my family went out to dinner for my sister’s birthday, and yesterday Daniel and I spent the entire day running around town doing errands that needed to get done before our upcoming vacation trip.  Then we had dinner at my parents’ house to bid my sister (the same one) a fond farewell as she leaves today for a month of study abroad!  Thankfully, today will be a bit more normal and low-key.

Workout

I started this morning off with approximately ZERO motivation to workout.  This is really unusual for me, as I usually have a good plan for what I want to do with my workouts either the night before or immediately on waking up in the morning.  My scheduled workout was a weightlifting session courtesy Nike Training Club on my iPhone, and I just was not feeling it at 7:00am.  However, I followed the old rule about just putting on your workout clothes as a means of motivation, and (luckily) it worked!  I still wasn’t super excited when I started the workout (today was the Challenger workout) but by mid-way through and toward the end, I was feeling strong and happy I stuck with my plan!  Considering I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to work out (if at all) while on our vacation the next couple of weeks, I’m glad I found the motivation to get it done before we leave!

Breakfast

After my workout and a quick shower, I was definitely ready for some breakfast.  I’m not the kind of person who typically knows what I want to eat or craves something particular first thing in the morning, so I often plan out my breakfasts at least a day in advance so that if I need to make anything the night before I can.  Today I had initially planned to have a bowl of my new favorite cereal (Kashi Go Lean Crisp in Very Berry Crumble flavor–soooooo yummy!), but when I finished my workout I was actually feeling like something more warm and hearty.  Instead, enter a delicious bowl of oatmeal:

I combined 1/2 cup of old-fashioned oats with milk, cinnamon, and some Truvia, and mixed in some sliced up gala apple, half a banana, a handful of walnuts and a small sprinkle of chia seeds.  The result was an ooey gooey mess of delicious.  Definitely would’ve been happy to eat more even though I was super full by the end.

Now off to (hopefully) tackle some yard work!

Leave a Reply

