Edamame Corn Summer Salad

First things first…let’s catch up with yesterday!

After breakfast and a quick trip to the hospital to check in on my grandpa (he’s fine, just had an outpatient procedure), I got back home and whipped up a quick lunch for Daniel and myself.  I was so hungry by the time I got around to it that I completely forgot to snap a picture, but my lunch consisted of a large salad that involved one of my favorite recipes–edamame corn summer salad!  I’ll post the recipe below, but it basically entails edamame, corn, red pepper, and green onions, tossed in a dressing made up of olive oil, mustard, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  Yummmmmmmy.  I originally made this as a side dish but it works just as well as a main or as an accoutrement to salad (especially for lunch).  I threw some on a bed of spinach and actually mixed a little bit of leftover cooked wheat berries into the mix.  On the side I munched on a carrot and some frozen peaches.

After lunch, Daniel and I tackled the yard!  I pulled weeds, trimmed bushes, sprayed, raked, and bagged while he mowed.  The house looks infinitely better and now I don’t feel like we’re leaving the place looking like a dump.  Also, extra exercise!  Winning!

Dinner:  I actually had to run out early last night to meet friends for a birthday celebration, so we enjoyed a nice early dinner.  I wanted to use up some of the things we still have sitting in the fridge and also still wanted to have something nice and filling because of the fact that I knew we’d be eating so much earlier than usual.  I made some salmon with italian seasoning and crushed red pepper sprinkled on, broccoli, and tried out Julie at PB Fingers’ recipe for turnip fries!  I must say, I thought these were a great idea and I found them to be quite delicious.  Definitely a great alternative to regular fries–they felt so decadent even though I knew they were healthy.  Daniel was a little more iffy about them, but he’s a huge proponent of all things fried and I think the texture was a little off–next time I might bake them a bit longer or even add just a minute of broiling at the end to get them a little more crisp.

Ignore the ugly picture, I was using my phone and, as I said, we were eating quickly.  Also ignore the fabulous burned garlic toast–oops!  (It was still tasty though).

Breakfast

Last night I went to bed with every intention of knocking out a long run this morning.  I knew the weather was going to be fabulous cool, so I figured maybe it would be a good time to try for my longest distance yet!  My long runs are typically about 6 miles right now, so I mapped out a route for 7 and was hoping for the best.  Unfortunately, when I woke up, I was once again just plain NOT in the mood to do any kind of workout, and grumbled my whole way out the door.  My legs were also more sore than I expected from my workout yesterday (probably because of the added yard work) and I just didn’t have that “strong” feeling I typically have (and need!) on my long run days.  Rather than force it, I cut things short and went just a little over 3 miles.  The weather did kick in and help out though, because I definitely ran faster than usual–my first mile was an almost record-breaking 8:24 and I finished with an average pace of 9:16.  Pretty good for little old me!

When I got back, I was craving some cereal, so Kashi fit the bill quite nicely.  Forgot to take a picture once again, but I think everyone knows what cereal looks like.

Goal for the day:  Get the house clean (really clean) in preparation for the folks who will be house and dog-sitting for us while we’re gone.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

