Today’s Recap

I was an epic fail today and completely forgot to take pictures of anything I ate.  I blame the whole “getting ready to leave on a huge vacation” thing.  This afternoon, the husband and I got some money exchanged, and I cleaned up the house some this morning, so at least we can call the day mildly productive!

Anywho, a quick recap of lunch and dinner.

Lunch

My lunch was rather…eclectic.  We’re trying to clean out the fridge before leaving rather than buying a bunch of new stuff, but I still wanted to work in my fruits and veggies.  I polished off the final bits of the edamame corn salad (which I realize I forgot the recipe to earlier…so I’ll do that in a minute!) on some spinach, along with a carrot, half a banana, about a quarter of a gala apple (sliced up), and a piece of toast with peanut butter and some Trader Joe’s reduced-sugar raspberry preserves.  It was quite tasty all the way around, even if it was a little…odd.

Dinner

I made the ever fabulous Skinny Enchiladas tonight.  They are a combination of two recipes I got off of Pinterest, and basically involve combining chicken, green pepper, onion, and a little greek yogurt and mexican cheese and spooning them into tortillas.  You then cover with the sauce, which is a magical combination of onion, cumin, chili powder, garlic, fire-roasted tomatoes, and chicken stock. Add cheese.  Bake.  Wonder ensues.  I had mine with a side salad with light Italian dressing and the leftover turnip fries from last night.  Again, eclectic.  But it worked!

Snacks

Today was a very snacky day.  I felt kind of hungry and tired all day and I think this contributed.  After dinner I had a couple of bites of some Kemp’s chocolate caramel brownie frozen yogurt, half an iced sugar cookie we had sitting around, and a couple of random chocolate eggs that were also about.  More than I had planned on munching–which I especially hate because I honestly didn’t even feel the need for dessert.  Oh well.  Tomorrow will be a better day.

Edamame Corn Salad (as promised!)


Ingredients:

1 bag (16 oz) frozen edamame, shelled (I often use mukimame, which is pre-shelled)

1 bag frozen yellow corn

1 red bell pepper

1 bunch green onions

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp dijon mustard

1/3 cup lemon juice

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:  Combine all the veggies in a bowl.  Combine the olive oil, mustard, and lemon juice in another bowl with some salt and pepper.  Pour over veggies.  Mix.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

